Tags

, , , ,

Raw Chocolate Pudding

It doesn’t look overly appetizing but this was an amazing dessert.  I will say that if your strawberries are not in good form then eat this right away.  I was the only one eating it and it spoiled before I finished it (that’s what I get for trying to make it last).

My friend sent me this recipe for a raw chocolate pie.  I couldn’t wait to try it.

I started with having my husband soak 1 1/2 cups of almonds.  I discovered hours later that almonds don’t absorb water like cashews so they didn’t get smooth when I pureed them.  Cashews are often out of my budget and I didn’t mind the crunch.

I used fresh strawberries and 1/4 cup honey instead of following the recipe.  But this was so easy – I threw everything in the food processor and had pudding a few minutes later.  The taste was amazing.  I wasn’t disappointed that my family didn’t like it.

So here’s my recipe for raw chocolate pudding

1 1/2 cups raw almonds

2 1/2 cups fresh strawberries

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup honey

Add the almonds to a food processor.  Give the almonds a minute by themselves before dropping in the remaining ingredients.  When all is blended – serve.  Refrigerate but eat within 24-48 hours to prevent spoilage.

